The Arab League has a long history of attempting to promote trade and economic cooperation among its member states, with several initiatives taken in the 1950s and 1960s. The Greater Arab Free Trade Area (GAFTA) is a pan-Arab free trade area established in 1997. It was founded by 14 countries: Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia and the United Arab Emirates. [5] [6] The creation of NAFTA followed the adoption by the Economic and Social Council of the Arab League (ETUC) of the “Agreement for the Facilitation and Development of Trade among Arab Countries” (1981) and the agreement of seventeen Arab League member states at a summit in Amman, Jordan, of the Greater Arab Free Trade Area (1997).